Glübers

Today’s card project was inspired by trying out a new product introduced in January by Cosmo Cricket: Glübers. Not only do I love the name, but the actual product is very nifty. The easiest way to tell you what Glübers are (if you haven’t played with them yet) is to picture a 2″ giant glue dot. Actually, Glübers come in a size range that includes 2″, 2.5″ and 3″ circular bases. So what do you do with a Glüber? It’s the perfect adhesive base for experimenting with ribbon, fabric, netting, seam binding tape, etc. to create your own floral embellishments. It gives you the ability to control the shapes, colors, material and design to create just what you need for a particular crafting project.

Now, I don’t profess to be a Glübers expert–in fact, the flower on this project is my first project. But, I can already tell you that they are addictive and I already have several ideas I’m looking forward to experimenting with. For this project, I worked with a solid length of ribbon, though it is quite adaptable. You can use scraps, fragments, twine, cording–nearly anything you can imagine to create flowers, rosettes, and other personal embellishments. I started from the outside edge and worked my way to the center. The way you fold or twist your ribbon is entirely in your hands.

My card base is Stampin’ Up! cardstock in Soft Suede. The card mat is Basic Grey paper from the “Capella” Collection. The sentiment stamp is from Papertrey. The ribbon is 5/8″ Swiss Dot Satin in Dark Chocolate from Papertrey Ink as well. For the middle of my rosette styled flower, I used a flatback Sparkler button from Webster’s Pages.






5 thoughts on “Glübers

  1. I have seen a couple videos and posts about these, but haven’t had the chance to try them. You did a great job on that flower embellishment. Love it! Looks like there are a lot of ways to create with these, can’t wait to see what you come up with.

  2. Albert, I was just reading my Cardmaker magazine not 5 minutes ago and saw these advertised for the first time in there. I love these! Although the picture on the package doesn’t do it justice. Your ribbon, by far, is better then the one thy have shown. Our craft stores wont carry them though, they never carry new exciting items. 😦 Maybe I need to move to a more Crafter Friendly state!!! Thanks for sharing!

  3. You did an excellent job, Albert. I bought a package the day they hit my Archivers. My first flower, that I made with tulle, has already come un-done. I think I had to wide of a piece, so my tip is to keep the bulk down. Yours is so pretty with the ribbon and of course the Sparkler button!
    Pretty card!
    Thanks for sharing
    Susan

  4. OMG! I haven’t seen these before but you can bet I am going to try and find them! That is awesome! You project is gorgeous. But of course it would be!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

