The Circles Of Life…

Today’s card project is made from some of the latest Papertrey Ink goodies I added to my ever-multiplying collection. I immediately fell in love with one of the newest steel dies that Papertrey Ink seems to excel at: Simple Circles Border. This great steel die works with almost any embossing/cutting platform familiar to crafters. It measures 1″ x 7 3/4″ and offers a great deal of flexibility in how you might want to incorporate or modify this design into your projects. I chose to use it with a coordinating stamp set called “Boy Basics: Simple Circles” (from PTI, as well). My thought was to use the die cut image to create the actual background for my card.

Using some plain white cardstock, I ran the die through my Cuttlebug four times to create four strips for my card background mat. The base cardstock is from Papertrey Ink’s Perfect Match cardstock line in a color called Summer Sunrise. I also used a 4″ x 5″ piece of the same colored cardstock as a mat to adhere my die-cut strips to. After playing around with how I wanted to orient the strips on my card, I chose to alternate the half-circle end vertically–one starting at the top, the next on the bottom. Next, I grabbed one pair (small and large) of the clear acrylic stamps featuring a circular bullseye effect and several inkpads and played around with colors. In the end, I used Stampin’ Up! color ranges in: Daffodil Delight, Wild Wasabi, Marina Mist, and Poppy Parade. I used a tulle, pearl, and crystal fleurette from Prima Marketing on one of the circles to break up the pattern a bit and offer another visual interest point.

The result is a bright, cheery card that just kind of screams “celebration” (hence, the appropriate sentiment). I think this would make a lovely birthday or party announcement. My mind is so full of ideas for incorporating this die and stamp combination into many different projects.




(Don’t forget that your time to enter Giveaway #16 is coming to a close soon….see the sidebar link…)

3 thoughts on “The Circles Of Life…

  1. LOVE this card. I bought the die & stamp set as well. I haven’t used them yet on a card. I experimented with VersaMark on solid color but haven’t done anything with it. I like your idea!
    I’ll send my answer sheet but I still have the 2 word scramble’s not solved. I have spent a ton of time and cannot get it!
    Thanks for sharing
    Susan

  2. SUSAN~~

    I’m going to post a little clue here that might help you (and others) out….that is, if anybody reads comments! 🙂

    #5: Is definitely in South America…and could sound like maracas
    #9: Is definitely NOT in North America, South America, Europe, Africa, Antarctica, or Australia….but on an island

Leave a Reply

