Fly High…

I keep finding myself returning to the Cricut ‘Florals Embellished’ cartridge again and again. If you are the type of crafter who loves to put together layered images, this cartridge is right up your alley. Perhaps, I’m weird in that aspect. But, I really find it relaxing to put together a bunch of paper layers together. The bird image that I chose for this card consists of at least seven separate cuts. The other thing about highly-layered images is that you can really explore color–because each one you put together invariably ends up possessing a completely different look and feel. Also, don’t be thrown by the word “florals” in the title. I know some crafters aren’t thrilled with floral images (that group would NOT include me). But this cartridge is filled with birds, butterflys, paisleys, Indian and Asian inspired cuts, as well as a cartload of fresh and imaginative flowers–from literal to abstract.

I used a Bazzill textured white cardstock to print and cut my bird layers with my Cricut Imagine at 4″. I used Stampin’ Up! RGB codes for my palette and a touch of Stickles in Star Dust for some flair. The base cardstock is Papertrey Ink in “Hawaiian Shores”. The decorative mat is a piece of scrap Stampin’ Up! designer series paper (which is no longer available). The letters for my sentiment were cut with my Cuttlebug and a Tim Holtz Alterations/Sizzix decorative strip die in a font called “Vintage Market” and some textured Bazzill cardstock in Raven. The final touch–continuing the bird theme–was a strip of cardstock from Prima Marketing for the card’s interior.





3 thoughts on “Fly High…

  1. How beautiful! It’s not my type of cart (I don’t do well with lots of layers), but I absolutely love what you’ve done!! The colors are perfect with each other. Beautiful, TFS!!! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

