Well Hello Doilies…

The fine folks at Papertrey Ink keep finding ingenious ways of liberating my money from my pockets. I’ve long been a fan of their stamp and cardstock lines. However, their recent introduction of custom steel dies has made me love them even more. This month’s release had a stamp and die set that really spoke to me–and it’s all about doilies. (Actually, in many ways, these sets remind me of childhood obsession with the drawing toy Spirograph. I could sit for hours and design colorful bursts of loops. Which I suppose should have been my first indication that papercrafting would become such a big part of my future.)

The real showcase for this post is a set of three steel dies called the Doily Details Collections. This set of three 2 3/4″ dies is highly versatile and a joy to use with any die-cutting machine you happen to own. I also highly recommend the complimentary set of punch-out tools (which help remove all those little bits of paper in one fell swoop).

This first card is very simple. I used the aptly named “Delightful Doilies” stamp set to create a background that mimics the die-cut greeting badge I created. The cardstock and ink (Rich Razzleberry) is from Stampin’ Up!. The stamps and dies are Papertrey Ink.




The second project was a vexing one for me. I created this card several days ago, but I was stuck on how to incorporate a greeting on it. So, I put it to the side. No matter how many times I came back to it, I just couldn’t find the right solution. Then, the die set arrived and solved my problem. In this case, I trimmed the die cut to fit my space requirements and it worked like a charm.



2 thoughts on “Well Hello Doilies…

  1. OK! I KNEW you would rock the latest PTI release. I got the same dies, I did not spring for the stamps. LOVE the cards, especially the one you cut the doily in half. LOVE it. I too LOVED the Spirograph. I thought of it the minute I saw the die you used on the purple card. GREAT minds think alike, right?
    Thanks for sharing ~ do share more!!
    Susan

  2. I keep seeing things from PTI popping up all over the place lately. These new doilies are just gorgeous! Would love to try them, but alas that spending diet gets in the way again! Great job with them!

Leave a Reply

