My Pink Stamper Design Team 2011–Challenge & Submission

This is something totally new and foreign to me. But, I figure the New Year should be about taking on new experiences and challenges.

By now, if you are a crafter, enthusiast, and/or Cricuteer for any length of time, you’ve surely heard of My Pink Stamper–Ms. Robyn Cardon. I’ve long been a fan of her instructional videos, Cricut expertise, and bubbly personality. Her site is so popular that she’s developed her own product lines and has design team showcasing them. I’ve always read many sites that have calls for design team members, but I’ve never really been motivated or brave enough to attempt a submission. For some reason, I’ve always held back on putting myself or my work “out there”. But, this year, I want to try and promote my blog and myself a bit more–and in doing so, hopefully provide encouragement and inspiration to other crafters the way My Pink Stamper inspires me.

So, for her design team call, Robyn asked submitters to “make a card, scrapbook page, or other Cricut project with your favorite cartridge using my favorite colors……pink, green, brown, and (other optional color of your choice)”. For my project, I chose to work with my Cricut Imagine and the suggested color palette inspired a tropical theme to my card submission.

My base cardstock is from Stampin’ Up! in a color called “Early Espresso” (5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, scored at 4 1/4″). The card mat is a piece of American Crafts glitter cardstock in “Lip Gloss” (4″ x 5″). I used my Zutter Round-It-All 1/2″ to cut all four corners of the base and mat cardstock. I used Bazzill corduroy textured cardstock in “Snow” to print and cut my images with my Cricut Imagine. I used artwork from two of my favorite Imagine art cartridges to design this card: “Imagine More Cards” and “Better Together”.

The parrot, branch, and greeting are cut at 4″ from the “Better Together” cartridge. The rose layers are cut at 3 1/2″ from the “Imagine More Cards” cartridge. I used Stampin’ Up! Stampin’ Dimensionals to layer all of images to create depth and visual interest. The final touch was a piece of Stampin’ Up! ribbon in “Chocolate Chip” (using the My Pink Stamper “cheater” method). Overall, I think the artwork and color palette evoke the feel of a bright sparkling evening sunset on a tropical isle. All my little parrot friend needs is a little drink with a tiny umbrella served in a cocunut cup. Or maybe I’m projecting?






I want to take a moment and thank My Pink Stamper for the challenge and opportunity. It was a lot of fun–and more importantly a chance to step outside my comfort zone.

8 thoughts on “My Pink Stamper Design Team 2011–Challenge & Submission

  1. Beautiful card, Albert! Good luck, you would do a great job. I have submitted a couple of times and got no where. I think you need to use her stamps, maybe not ~ my cards may not hve been all that great!
    I’ll be pulling for you!
    Susan

  2. I hope you make it Albert! I have always loved that your cards don’t look like the Cricut box! Not that I don’t LOVE all the cards that do, because I do love them. But I love your spin on all your projects and I think Robyn’s viewers would love the different look! GOOD LUCK! 🙂

  3. I love it!!! I wanna hug your birdie!!! ( I have 3 real ones) This is suuuch a cute card!!! I now want the Imagine!! 🙂 Good Luck with Robyns team.

Leave a Reply

