Tonality

I know recently I’ve been obsessed with Halloween and related projects. I’m actually kind of sad that after this weekend, it’s really time to move on to other holidays and projects.

For today’s card, I played with one of my favorite areas of exploration in card layout and construction: tonality. While I love bold, vivid color as much as the next person–I’ve always been fascinated with working with similar tones and tints of one color. Of course, green being my favorite color–tints and tones of greens are particular favorites for me. For this card, I wanted to explore the color family as well creating the actual and illusory use of texture. I was really happy with the way this project turned out.

The base cardstock and color is Wild Wasabi from Stampin’ Up!. The base decorative foiled cardstock mat was cut at 4″ x 5″ and is from American Craft’s “Botanique” collection. I used my SU! ticket corner punch to shape all four corners. The next two layers of the card were achieved with the use of my Cuttlebug and two of Tim Holtz’s Alterations dies from Sizzix.

The next layer (striped) was cut using the Baroque Alterations die and another piece of decorative cardstock from the “Botanique” collection. I love the multistriped tonal look with the light smattering of glitter. The final layer was a piece of SU! Whisper White cardstock that was cut with Tim Holtz’s Styled Label Alterations die. I then used a Papertrey Ink background text stamp to create the handwritten background with their Ripe Avocado ink. These two layers were adhered together with my ATG714 adhesive gun and then applied to the base layer with Stampin’ Up! Stampin’ Dimensionals.

The finishing touch was an Imaginisce paper flower in a light celery color. I capped off the petal with a floral center flatback button in celadon from Webster’s Pages. (Love these!) The card is perfect for almost any use or correspondence. Too often, I trap myself into making cards for a specific theme or event. Sometimes, it’s great to have some cards on hand that will work for almost anything.






3 thoughts on “Tonality

  1. Wow!!! Another amazing card! My little sister is going to be gone for the next two years (she’s serving a mission for my church) and I was going to make her a bunch of ‘all occasion’ cards!!! You’re such an inspiration! Thanks so much for sharing your wonderful ideas!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

