Falling Slowly…

Carrying on the musing from my last post, today’s card project is an homage to Fall. I really wanted to capture the textures and palette of the upcoming season. This project uses a set of stamps and coordinating steel dies that were recently unveiled by Papertrey Ink in their August release: “Leaf Prints” (#2264, $ 24.00) and “Leaf Prints Die Collection (#PTD-0042, $ 16.00).

The base cardstock is Stampin’ Up! in Early Espresso and the mat color is Soft Suede. The base is cut at 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ and scored at 4 1/4″. The mat is cut at 4″ x 5”. The leaf shapes were cut from Stampin’ Up! Whisper White cardstock using the steel die set and my Cuttlebug.

Once my leaf shapes were cut, I grabbed the stamp set and started experimenting with ink colors. To create the four leaves, I used combinations of Tsukineko and Stampin’ Up! inks. From Tsukineko, I used the Memento ink pads in Potter’s Clay, Rich Cocoa, and Tuxedo Black. From Stampin’ Up!, I used Stampin’ Pads in Crumb Cake, Cajun Craze, Crushed Curry, and More Mustard.


For the card mat, I used a Tim Holtz Alterations Texture Fades embossing folder called “Woodgrain” (manufactured by Sizzix) and my Cuttlebug to create the texture of a tree trunk.


Before I began assembling my card, I was a bit lost as to how I wanted to incorporate a sentiment to my card front. After looking at several options, I realized I could utilize one of my leaves as the actual vehicle for my sentiment. In the end, I really love the effect created of random, multi-colored leaves tumbling from the top of a giant tree trunk plummeting to meet Mother Earth and lay the welcome mat for Fall.


The finished leaves were attached to my card mat using Stampin’ Up! Stampin’ Dimensionals. In the end, I cut one of my leaves to better fit on the card and create the spacing I was looking for. The final touch was a journaling block from the Pink Paislee “Queen Bee” collection for the inside of the card (due to the deep shade of the cardstock) for writing your note.



3 thoughts on “Falling Slowly…

  1. This is a really gorgeous card! I really liked those dies when I saw them & I think you’ve done a fabulous job with the colors & textures.

Leave a Reply

