Spooky (Life Gets In The Way)

First and foremost, I want to thank all of my readers and friends who were worried about my unplanned disappearance. Thank you for the concern–and for continuing to check up on me. Nothing major on my end. It’s just one of those unplanned stretches where life seems to get in the way of your crafting time. (I shouldn’t complain, as I’ve been on a streak for a while–and I suppose it was just my time.) But, hopefully, I’ll be back to a more routine posting schedule and the fun and games will resume post-haste.

Today, I want to share with you a simple card project that highlights one of the new Stampin’ Up! two-step punches. I’ve always had a “thing” for owls and this Two-Step Owl Punch (#118074, $ 16.95) is just adorable. It also gives me an excuse to make a card in celebration of one of my favorite holidays–Halloween! The card base is Stampin’ Up! cardstock in Pumpkin Pie (5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, scored at 4 1/4″). The decorative mat is from the new Die Cuts With A View (DCWV) stack “Midnight Spell” (4″ x 5″). I used the punch and some scrap pieces of leftovers from other projects to create the owl. The sentiment stamp (“Spooky”) is from the clear mount Stampin’ Up! set entitled “Wicked Cool” (#120600, $ 14.95) and was stamped with StazOn ink in Jet Black.

One of the things that I loved most about this card is that you can manipulate how you put the owl’s eyes together from the punched pieces. In this instance, I wanted the owl to look like he was scared of the black raven sitting next to him…and hence the “Spooky” sentiment. I think I just managed to capture that mood.





5 thoughts on “Spooky (Life Gets In The Way)

  1. I am sooooo glad you are okay. This card is just wonderful!!! That bg paper is just awesome and that owl is perfect for it. Looove the colors. Sooooo glad you’re back!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

