Giveaway #12: The Last Hurrah

Summer is a curious beast. On one hand, I love Summer because among other things it’s my Birthday, lol. But seriously, Summer is a time for picnics, family get-togethers, beaches, vacations, flowers, fairs, and Mother Nature’s miracles. On the other hand, I kind of get to a point where Summer starts to dangle on a bit too long for my taste. I think that stems from the fact that I live in the middle of a desert, and this year in particular, the heat and humidity have been unbearable at times. Many have said that I’m just really a cold-blooded person. I think it may be that I’m too warm-blooded. Whatever the case, I, for one, am completely ready for Fall to take the stage.

As a last hurrah to Summer, I thought I’d have this Giveaway feature prizes in honor of two of my favorite things of Summer: flowers and vacations. The winner of Giveaway #12 will say goodbye to Summer with a prize package that features:

  • one (1) brand new Cricut Limited Edition Mini Cartridge: Summer Vacation (a $24.99 value);
  • one (1) brand new Stampin’ Up! rubber stamp set (wood block mount): Awash With Flowers (a $39.95 value); and
  • a collection of surprise goodies and embellishments
  • To enter for a chance to win Giveaway #12, leave a comment on this post answering the following question: “What is your favorite sight or smell of Fall?” (One entry per person please.) The winner will be selected by a random draw of all those who participate. The deadline for entering Giveaway #12 is Wednesday, September 1, 2010 at 12:00 a.m. MST.

    16 thoughts on “Giveaway #12: The Last Hurrah

    1. My most favorite sight of Fall is the leaves changing colors. Some trees look like they are on fire, where others look so pretty in their yellow, red, brown finery. 🙂

    2. I love when the leaves change, and the smell of the cooler air! It is completely different than the summer air. Our color changes usually go so fast, that if we don’t catch them in time, we miss out! I love taking the kids to the pumpkin patches and doing the corn mazes, the pumpkin carving, all of it. Fall puts me in a great mood! 🙂 Thanks for the chance to win! 🙂

    3. I LOVE everything about the fall. I HATE Hot weather so I love the cool temperatures. The smell of dusty leaves that need to be raked. The color of those falling leaves. My Birthday is in September, I LOVE the time of year of my birthday! I love football and that to me is a great sight to see games begining! Oh, my Anniversary is in September, too! I love the sight of the presents my awesome husband gets me!
      Did I say I LOVE Fall???!!!
      Thanks for the chance to win! Glad to “see” you back! We missed you, and were worried about you!
      Susan

    4. My favorite would have to be the smell of the harvest season. I live in a small farming town, so you really get the full force of harvest time. I love the colors changing too! Of course – there’s always hunting season and Halloween (two more of my favorites). 🙂

    5. My favorite sight in fall is when my kids, Mom and I go on our annual pumpkin excursion. We go to pick out pumpkins at the same roadside stand each year and I take pictures of them with the pumpkins, also of the bushels of apples, squash, indian corn etc.
      I’m not a huge fall fan, as it means that winter is coming and I don’t like the cold, but we do have fun going for those pumpkins.
      My kids are now 20 & 18 and they still want to do our traditional excursion.
      Thanks for the chance to win this fabulous prize and think about fun times in the fall.

    6. I always know when fall is coming because the fall craft festival happens on Labor Day weekend and they have awesome Halloween and Christmas crafts, so my favorite sight is when the signs start going up for the festival. I also love seeing my kids at the pumpkin patch. My favorite smell is pumpkin pie baking and hot apple cider. I am such a summer person as far as the weather is concerned, I love hot, but I love the activities of fall more than the activities we do in the summer.

    7. Love the colors of the leaves and grass. The smells that remind me of my grandmother – the pies, cookies, soups and fresh laundry on the line on a frosty day. Thanks for the chance to win.

    8. I love the colors of fall and when the leaves start dropping from the trees. That means me and my girls can run through them kicking them everywhere. We love doing this.

    9. Fall is absolutely my favorite season. I love the colors of the changing leaves and the smells of camping fires in the back yard. Can’t wait for the cooler weather!!!

    10. Our favorite fall activity growing up was to go to the apple orchards and buy bushels of apples to store in our pumphouse. They would last all winter. Apples taste the best when they are fresh, tart, and crisp. We would also go to the State Fair over Labor day weekend. That was always an indication of fall. Sampling all the treats that you could only get at the Fair. The air turns crisp and lower humidity. You could enjoy being outside.

    11. My favorite smell of fall is when we go to the Cider Mills and the Hot Apple Cider Aroma is in the air. It does something exciting inside my body – I get very excited. I think it has something to do with knowing Halloween – my favorite time of the year is approaching. 🙂
      flophasit at yahoo dot com

    Leave a Reply

    