Let Them Eat Cupcake

Here’s a very cute card project that originates from an unlikely source. I used my Cuttlebug and the Stampin’ Up!/Sizzix Top Note die to cut the card panels out. I cut two pieces (card front and back) out of Stampin’ Up! Pink Passion cardstock. The decorative panel is from Imaginisce’s Cheri collection.

For the cardfront element, I used a Papertrey Ink stamp set called “Cupcake Collection”. The cupcake wrapper is stamped with two elements–a solid inside and an outside outline. The second element is the swirled cupcake topper.

Using the stitch lines that the Top Note die leaves on the die-cut, I trimmed the decorative paper around the perimeter. That way it creates a small border edge with the solid cardstock underneath. I cut out my cupcake pieces leaving a slight tab on the bottom of the upper swirl to make it easier to attach to the wrapper.

Next, using the Scor-Pal, I created a small flap at the top of the cardfront to place the adhesive and attach the the cardback. Make sure that your score mark is very deep to allow for repetitive opening of the finished card.

I used a sentiment stamp from the same Papertrey Ink set on the inside of the card.

Using my Stampin’ Write markers, I finished coloring the cupcake, added some KaiserCraft mini black pearls as accents, and adhered it to the cardfront with Stampin’ Dimensionals. A piece of 1/8″ Stampin’ Up! taffeta ribbon in Early Espresso creates the finishing touch.




Life is too short. Always eat a cupcake when the opportunity presents itself!

(P.S. Don’t forget to enter Giveaway #11, which closes on Saturday.)

2 thoughts on “Let Them Eat Cupcake

  1. FUN card Albert. I do not have the Top Note die but I can cut one similar on my Expression. I am going to “lift” your idea!
    I cannot wait to see your new Gold Beauty! I am sure it will cut much better!
    Thanks for sharing
    Susan

Leave a Reply

