L’Amour

This past week has been a frustrating one on the creative front. Have you ever felt like the factory is open, but the steam to run the engine is out? That’s been me in a nutshell. Several projects floated around in my head, but I just couldn’t get motivated to get them from the mental drawing board to fruition. I really don’t like that feeling, but I suppose you can’t force it when the tank is running on empty. The good news is that after cleaning my house this morning, I finally cleared the block and started playing.

For this card project, I used one of my new Stampin’ Up! 2010-2011 stamp set releases called “Artistic Etchings” (#120573, $ 14.95).

I used a piece of Papertrey Ink Kraft cardstock cut at 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″, Tsukineko Memento ink in Rich Cocoa, the medallion image from the “Artistic Etchings” set, and the Stampin’ Up! acrylic block “D” to create a random background pattern on the kraft cardstock.



The other images I chose to use are the Eiffel Tower and “Amour” sentiment from the same stamp set. I used another piece of kraft cardstock (2 1/2″ x 3 1/2″) to stamp these images with Tsukineko Memento ink in Tuxedo Black.

To assemble my image layers, I used a piece of Stampin’ Up! cardstock in Early Espresso (3 1/2″ x 4 1/2″), a piece of decorative paper from SEI’s Windsor Collection (2 3/4″ x 3 3/4″), and scored my base cardstock at 4 1/4″.

For a final decorative touch, I used a vertical strip of Tim Holtz tissue tape. (If you have not experimented with the tissue tape, I highly recommend it as a very interesting and versatile focal point for many different types of projects. Japanese washi tape is also a great embellishment.)

For the final steps before I adhered all of my layers, I used a bit of Colorbox chalk ink in Chestnut Roan to stain the edges of my Eiffel Tower piece and the Stampin’ Up! tag corner punch to cut all the corners of my layers and card base.




5 thoughts on “L’Amour

  1. Oh WOW!!!! This is just awesome!! I love how you stamped the medallion all over the cardstock and the other patterened piece you used went perfect with everything! Now did I just make any sense?! I looooove your card! Beautiful!!!!!! 🙂

  2. This card is really fantastic! My favorite colrs! I love it. I also can’t stand it when my brain doesn’t kick my body into action creating what I want LOL That’s what the round file is for LOL
    N.

  3. Hummmmm, it seems that cleaning house can be a tool to being creative. Well, I have a lot of cleaning to do for this weekend, so I should be really charged up for next week, lol. Maybe I will break down and start a blog.

    Great job on you card, Albert!!!!

Leave a Reply

