No Boundaries

This card project is fairly simple in its design and execution. However, the story and the emotions that go with it are anything but. I made this card a while back for a very special person. I wanted to wait and post about it until after I was sure she had received it–and to make sure it was okay to share a bit of the story behind it.

Carolyn is an amazing woman. She has a sense of adventure and style that is uniquely her own. She’s always been a bit “out there”–and that’s part of the reason I love her so much. Recently, Carolyn went through a lengthy ordeal that ended up in her undergoing a double mastectomy. Anyone who has ever faced the specter of breast cancer or had a loved one face that battle knows what a life-changing event it is. To say that Carolyn has handled it with grace and a wry sense of humor is a gross understatement. The idea for this particular card came after a conversation we had regarding how something as simple as finding the right dress to wear to a function became a whole new journey of discovery, heartache, laughter and challenge.

Several days after a very heartfelt–and frankly, hilarious–discussion of the fashion challenges facing Carolyn’s new “boobless” (her term) stage of life, I saw a clear acrylic stamp set by Girls’ Paperie called “Paper Girl”. Among the thirteen stamps was this image of a dress form that immediately reminded me of Carolyn. Now, I won’t go into all the details of the note I sent her, but suffice to say that the first thing I loved about the image was the lack of noticeable cleavage. Beyond that, it has some lovely words running throughout that were very apropos. Another thing I loved was the exposed “cage” on the base of the dress form. It led back to something we discussed about the body being a cage for our soul–and the clothing on the outside was just the “wrapper”. It was just all full circle.

The sentiment is “No Boundaries” because that’s the type of person Carolyn is. She’s always been larger than life. Her sense of fashion has always been just as large–and I know it will continue to be no matter what decisions she makes in the future.

(Oh, I should mention one other thing! Carolyn “hates” pink. That accounts for my non-traditional color palette.)

The cardstock base cut to an A2 size is Stampin’ Up! Bravo Burgundy. The decorative paper is from Graphic 45. The image was stamped on Stampin’ Up! Whisper White with Tsukineko Memento ink in Rich Cocoa, cut out and adhered with Stampin’ Dimensionals. The ribbon is from Papertrey Ink’s Scarlet Jewel collection. The sentiment is a rub-on from Creative Imaginations. I used the Stampin’ Up! ticket corner punch on the mat and card corners.





This is why (in part) I love cardmaking as much as I do. We all love to express our creativity and ideas and hopefully make something that is pleasing along the way. But, so many times, it is the the people we make them for, the stories and sentiments that they represent–that are a gift for the maker and recipient so many times over. So, always remember, the cards we make and share are literally a documentation of our lives. Until next time, always love your friends and keep crafting…

4 thoughts on “No Boundaries

  1. Oh Albert! I’ve got tears is my eyes!! You and your dear friend Carolyn will be in my prayers. My BFF’s Mom has breast cancer and is fighting it with all she has. My heart just aches for anyone who is going through this horrible ordeal. I know what it is doing to both my BFF and her Mom. It effects not just the one with cancer but everyone in their life. Your card is just beautiful and says more than just the sentiment stamped on it. Awesome job as usual Albert!!! 🙂

  2. Wow, Albert! A VERY touching story. Carolyn is indeed lucky to have you as a friend! The card is very well done. I am not a Pink person either so I understand the color palatte. We will all pray Carolyn has kicked cancers butt!
    Thanks for sharing the card & the story behind it.
    Susan

Leave a Reply

