Let Them Have Cake…

I have (another) confession to make. Well, actually, I have several confessions to make. My new set of Cricut cartridges (Cindy Loo, Mini Monsters, Freshly Picked, and Wall Decor & More) should be delivered on Thursday. That will bring my cartridge total to cxxxviii. (LOL!). For you non-Romans, that would be…uhm…138.

Then, I just realized that the sneak peak pre-order for Stampin’ Up! Demonstrators for items from the forthcoming new catalog started on 06/01. I’ve revised my list about four times already and it is still hitting around $250-$350 depending on the revision. So, I’m arguing with myself (and losing), but I should have my list ready to order tomorrow.

Between K & Company and Basic Grey, I’ve been buying new paper collections like a madman. Then I found some really cute acrylic stamps….and well… Tim Holtz’s new texture fade embossing folders were finally released and I had to have all of them. I guess what I’m trying to say is that I need to buy a new house–to use as a craft room. I kid. I think. But, never let it be said that I’m not doing my part to stimulate the economy (and every cash register and on-line retailer I get near).

Which leads me to another confession. I don’t really bake that much. I love breads and cupcakes and brownies…and such. I love to eat them even more. But, I rarely bake a cake. I guess being single is part of the reason I don’t. Okay, and maybe the fact that I’m too lazy plays in there too. But, that’s an entirely different can of worms. So, I don’t make cakes–or rarely. But, I convinced myself that even though I wouldn’t be interested in the Cricut Cake, I really should have the Cake cartridges to use with my Expression. So, I bought Elegant Cakes, Cake Basics, Holiday Cakes, Birthday Cakes. (Don’t judge. It made sense at the time.)

I have to say there are some really great images–especially if you love creating borders, patterns, and ornate designs in your cards and layouts. Thus far, the only cartridge I’ve played with is ‘Elegant Cakes’ (mainly because I’m so enamoured of the designs on it I haven’t stopped playing with this one on my Gypsy).

The birthday card I’m sharing with you today was made with the ‘Elegant Cakes’ cartridge. Both the floral scroll and sentiment come from that cartridge. I used Stampin’ Up! cardstock in Glorious Green and Certainly Celery to layer the die-cuts. The decorative mat is from Basic Grey’s new fabulous collection, ‘Capella’. The base cardstock in Stardream So…Silk! in Fair Blue. I used a Zig Two-Way Glue Pen to put it together and a Sakura Stardust Clear Glitter pen to highlight it. The result is a lot of card (from a design and visual perspective), but I think it works.







11 thoughts on “Let Them Have Cake…

  1. This is gorgeous Albert! I love that you traced the letters with your glitter pen. I LOVE LOVE LOVE my pens! There is a perfectly good reason why they are sold in sets of two isn’t there? One is just not enough. 🙂

    • NOELLE~~

      If Sakura ever goes out of business, I think I may have a nervous breakdown. I am in complete lust with their clear stardust pens….lol

  2. What a fancy and “elegant” card – the glitter pen looks great on the sentiment.

    I totally understand why you “needed” the Cake cartridges. I haven’t gotten them yet but there is so much to like on them – I know they will follow me home eventually!

    Did you have trouble cutting the scrolls so small (card size)? The cuts on your card look great (just wondering if you had any “rejects” before you got these to work)

    • DIANE~~

      With all your creativity and expertise with DS, the Cake Cartridges are going to be a MUST HAVE for you! (Sorry, to be the bearer of such news, lol.)

      You know, I was afraid the scrollwork would be a problem for an A2 card size–but if you can believe, this is the first attempt cut. I cut the scrollwork base at 5.39 width and 3.25 height. It cut perfectly. The hardest part was actually adhering the small flower pieces because of my big fingers.

      With the intricate cut-out frames you excel at–Elegant Cakes should be at the top of your list. (Not that I’m pushy or anything :-))

  3. You are just too funny. I am on a spending diet and that is why I don’t even think of looking at any catalogs or online stores. There is so much great stuff out there that it is hard to resist. I think you may need a sabatical from work just to get a chance to use all you new stuff. LOL!

    • KRISTIE~~

      Spending Diet???!!! *Does NOT Compute* LOL My Mama did not impart self-control.

      But, seriously, I know what you mean. Honestly, I go through spurts. For a few months, I’ll be pretty good…then the floodgates open and I wake up screaming “BUY IT!” in the middle of the night. 🙂

  4. Love your confessions!! 138 carts!!! WOW!!!!! I don’t have that many yet. I’m working on it though. Paper is my weakest point. I’m an addict. I haven’t even looked at the cake carts. Trying to stay away from them. I will be ordering some the new ones today. I can’t wait any longer to get my hands on them! LOL I do love this card you did with the cake basic cart. You keep making cards from these carts and I may have to look at them. Soooo don’t you be enabling me now!!!! The colors are great and I just love the glitter highlighting! Beautiful!!!! 🙂

    • SHARON~~

      I have faith that you will soon join me in triple digit cartridge counts. I am nothing if not supportive, lol. I can’t wait to get my hands on the newest set of releases. As for paper, I feel your pain. At this point, I’m pretty sure I could wallpaper every home on my street. But, that will remain our little secret….

  5. Albert,
    Wow! The card is beautiful! I thought I was bad, you “take the cake!” haha, bad pun! I got a part-time job to help pay for my habit, even though my awesome hubby never says a WORD! But, I do sometimes have a guilty conscience. We do have 2 in college! So…. I am a Cricut Army Demonstrator, doing what I love!
    Put the checkbook, or in my case, credit card away!
    Thanks for sharing and making the rest of us not look quite so bad!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

