Borrowing Inspiration

This weekend on my rounds of the weblogs I visit, I came upon a great project and video tutorial on Bryan’s (ScrapGuy) site. While his project was designed to display photos and journaling blocks, I had a slightly different use in mind. So, I borrowed his idea, messed with the sizing a bit, and came up with what I think is an elegant invitation to a dinner party. I ended up making twelve of these. The photographs I’m sharing with you are blank on the inside (as I really only have enough food for twelve people, lol). But, I added some lovely vellum slips to the interior and hand wrote the relevant information (date, time, place, occasion, etc.). It is a bit of work getting all of the elements for each piece together, but once you have your pieces it becomes a process of having a thoughtful and succinct assembly line to achieve your finished project.

For my project, I used the following materials and tools:

  • PAPER: Basic Grey decorative cardstock from the “Sublime” collection, Papertrey Ink Kraft cardstock;

  • EMBELLISHMENTS: 7 Gypsies velvet flowers in Eggplant, Stampin’ Up! 5/8″ satin ribbon in Old Olive, Prima Marketing Monarch Flower Center in Maple; ColorBox Fluid Chalk Ink Cat’s Eye in Chestnut Roan;

  • TOOLS: Making Memories paper trimmer, Zutter 1/2″ Round-It-All corner rounder, ATG 714 adhesive gun, Scor-Pal scoring board;










  • 7 thoughts on “Borrowing Inspiration

    1. I love it, what a great way to change up his idea. Who wouldn’t want to get an invite like that?!?! Very creative idea. Thanks for encouraging us to think outside the box and change things up a bit.

    2. I love yours as much as I do Bryan’s!! Awesome way to do an invite!!! That flower is so so beautiful. Love the bling in the middle of it. You made 12 of these. Had to have taken a bit of time. Whomever will be getting one of these will be thrilled. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    