Green With Friendship

I have two confessions to make: 1) I really, really had fun making this card (and I really, really like it); and 2) I know I’ve told you before that green is my favorite color–but I swear I don’t just make green cards (despite evidence to the contrary with my recent projects, lol). I guess I should have said I had three confessions to make as I sort of went a bit photo crazy with this entry–BUT, did I tell you that I really, really like this card?!

Here are the paper elements for this card:

PAPERS: Stampin’ Up! cardstock in Kiwi Kiss (5 1/2″ x 8″, scored at 4 1/4″; and 3″ x 3 1/2″), Cosmo Cricket decorative paper from the ‘Garden Variety’ collection (3 1/4″ x 4 1/4″; see additional note below), Stardream Fuse Mica in Emerald (3 1/2″ x 4 3/4″), and SEI punched floral border in White (7/8″ x 5 1/2″);

The actual card size for this project is not A2. The size was a happy accident, as I had grabbed a scrap piece of Kiwi Kiss cardstock that I thought was the standard 5 1/2″ x 8 1/2″ size I usually work with. It wasn’t until I used my Scor-Pal to score the cardstock that I realized it was 1/2″ shorter in length–and when folded the edges did not meet up. I nearly decided to start again, but then decided it was be an interesting challenge to come up with a design element that would accommodate this odd sizing.


Next, I rummaged around in my stamps to find an image to be the focal point of the card. I knew going in that I wanted to heat emboss the image. I chose a stamp from the Stampin’ Up! set entitled “Simple Friendship”. I used a VersaMark pad to stamp the image on a scrap piece of SU! Kiwi Kiss cardstock and used white Stampin’ Emboss powder and a heat gun to set the image.

Once the embossing was dry, I used a Stampin’ Up! 1 3/8″ circle punch to cut the image out of the scrap cardstock. Now, it was time to try and figure out how I wanted to layout my card design. After a couple of attempts, I started leaning toward something like this. The ribbon was a late addition and it’s 1/4″ grosgrain polka dot from American Crafts.

A little 3M ATG 714 Gold adhesive and a couple of knots in a bow later, I had adhered the decorative paper from Cosmo Cricket (p.s. I love this ‘Garden Variety’ collection and HIGHLY recommend it.) to my mica cardstock and tied my ribbon around the other piece of Kiwi Kiss cardstock. By the way, I should add that I use The Pink Stamper (Robyn’s) “cheater method” most times when adding ribbon to a card project. The ribbon ends are taped to the back of the cardstock with 3M Scotch tape. Another piece of ribbon is then tied into the knot. When I finished, I thought something was still missing….

The solution turned out to be another piece of Cosmo Cricket decorative paper with those great big polka dots. (I cut the piece to 2″ x 3 1/2″.) Now, just to figure out where to position it.

The final element for the card was that white strip of punched out flower shapes. This was a piece from a page of punch-outs that came with one of my SEI paper packs (but I’m sorry I don’t recall which one). Obviously, with all the green going on everyplace, white was just not going to do. So, I took some SEI chalk ink in Lime and proceeded to daub the strip with the color until it was fully saturated. These little 1″ cubes from SEI are perfect for application without the use of any special or additional tools.

I adhered the now lime colored decorative punch strip to the edge of the card that was exposed with a Zig Two-Way glue pen and added a die-cut journaling block from K & Co.’s Madeline collection to the inside.

A bit more adhesive and a few Stampin’ Up! Stampin’ Dimensionals for my embossed stamped sentiment and I have a finished card that celebrates my love of green and friendship.







Well, I hope you’ve enjoyed sharing this journey with me as much as I enjoyed making this project. Again, I urge you to sometimes leave the planning behind. Pick a color scheme or paper that tickles your fancy and build your project without any preconceived notions. Rummage in your supplies. Play with your toys. Sometimes, you can find the biggest smiles and satisfaction in the unplanned. It may not always work (and I have had plenty of cards go into the waste bin). But sometimes, your creativity will surprise you.

Next to family and friends, creativity is always one of your best companions. As always, keep crafting!

10 thoughts on “Green With Friendship

  1. Your card turned out perfect!! Love how you put the punched strip down the side. All the shades of green are just wonderful together!! Another awesome creation from Albert!! Love it!!!!! 🙂

    • Dear SHELLY~~

      I did receive your mailing information! Thank you for replying. I hope your prize arrives shortly, but if it doesn’t–please do not hesitate to let me know.

      Thanks,
      Albert

  2. Hey Albert,

    I hope you get this. I have been sick for a few days and upon returning to the land of the living, what do I discover…..that I won your giveaway #5!!!! What a wonderful surprise! I can certainly confirm that there was no underhanded kooky-ness (is that a word?) going on for me to win. I just adore your art. Now, on to the issue. When I tried to contact you, it takes me to my outlook express…which I don’t use. So after foreeeever trying to configure it to my yahoo address with no luck, I decided to leave you a comment here. Can you send me an e-mail to rnf_h@yahoo and I will reply to you with my mailing info? How sad that I am so computer challenged that I can’t even send a dang e-mail.

    Thanks,
    Robyn

  3. Dear ROBYN~~

    I’m sorry you had problems getting in touch with me! I’m also glad to hear you are feeling better.

    Absolutely no problem. I will send an e-mail to your Yahoo account in a few minutes. Please let me know if you continue to have troubles.

    Thanks,
    Albert

Leave a Reply

