Kiss From A Rose

“But he that dares not grasp the thorn Should never crave the rose”–Ms. Anne Bronte (1820-1849)

For a while now, I’ve been trying to teach myself paper quilling. As someone who does not exactly have the smallest of hands, it has been a bit challenging to say the least. But as some wise soul once noted, practice does indeed help. In a way quilling is a very relaxing pursuit. Using a basic set of tools (circle sizer ruler, a slotted tool, needle tool, fine-tip tweezers, glue pen, and quilling paper), it’s amazing to see the beautiful ways you can manipulate paper into dimensional objects. Of course, my ulterior motive in learning to quill was to be able to create embellishments for my card work.

This is the first project I’ve made using quilling I’ve created (and I’m still rather incredulous at the results). I used my Cricut Expression and the Cricut ‘Serenade’ cartridge to cut the layered vase and branch shapes. The three roses were created using the Sprial Roses Quilling Kit I purchased from Quilled Creations. The cardstock is Stampin’ Up! in Rich Razzleberry. I purposely kept this card super simple of embellishment or patterned paper. I wanted to showcase the roses–and I think the diecuts suited them perfectly. This was one of those rare occasions where you finish a project and surprise yourself. I was taken aback by how simple, yet elegant this card turned out to be.









5 thoughts on “Kiss From A Rose

  1. Beautiful! I taught myself to quill by downloading instructions from the internet and then just kept practicing. It is very calming and satisfying when you create something so beautiful! You roses are fantastic! 🙂

  2. I thought I didn’t like quilling, dang it. The roses are beautiful. I’m pining for serenade, just waiting for April. I have a Beautiful Blogger award for you at my blog.

  3. I recently found your blog. So far this is one of my favorite cards you’ve done because like you said it is simple and elegant at the same time. Love it!

Leave a Reply

